Raspberry Pi 4 Digibyte Core Node Step By Step

The DigiByte Community Forums Cryptocurrency 101 Guides 🧭 Raspberry Pi 4 Digibyte Core Node Step By Step

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Participant

I wanted to put this together as a bit more detailed step by step to configuring a digibyte node on a raspberry pi. This is a result of a week or so of me fumbling through how to guides and random internet searches for Ubuntu commands. With that said, I am by no means an expert so if anyone see’s something that is incorrect, needs to be tweaked or done a different way, please mention it. I will test out any suggested changes and make updates to the steps as necessary. Once my guide was finished I wiped the storage card on my Raspberry Pi and started from scratch using copy/paste through SSH from this guide, most if not all commands should be copy/paste ready. The longest steps were flashing the Ubuntu image and transferring over the blockchain data. I referenced Yoshi’s guide, linked below, but there were some commands in his guide I could not get to work so others were substituted.

My hardware:
    Raspberry PI4 4GB
    16GB usb flash drive
    CanaKit case and power supply with on/off button

Yoshi’s Guide for reference:
    https://medium.com/@YoshiJaeger/running-digibyte-core-on-a-raspberry-pi-3-4-a7350dabbde0

Installing Ubuntu on the SD card

This was pretty self explanatory, the guide and tool provided walk you through step by step and I had zero issue. I did this on my Ubuntu desktop but I’m going to guess it works just as well on Windows. You want to pick the 64 bit Ubuntu server 20.04.

Follow the tutorial for installing Ubuntu server on your sd card:

https://ubuntu.com/tutorials/how-to-install-ubuntu-on-your-raspberry-pi#1-overview

Once the tool finishes writing the OS. Mount the SD to your PC, you can configure wifi at this time using the details in the Ubuntu how to above.